Attitude change

Status report for the past few days...

There are a few things I have learned about myself. First of all, no matter how hard I try, waking up is horrible and I really suck at it. I have always been super miserable in the morning (you should ask my parents) and have always needed time to wake up. Even as a baby, I wanted time to wake up before I was taken out of my crib (so I've been told). So, in order for me to make mornings easier on myself, I have to wake up half an hour before I want to get out of bed. That way I can take that time to wake up and become somewhat human. When I was a teenager my parents gave me a television for Christmas for my room. I would set the morning alarm and then watch one half an hour show before I got up. (In high school it was "bewitched"). That way I would feel awake when I rolled out of bed. 
Now I am sure that it is probably not the best idea to have the first half an hour of your morning with screen time, but it is what works for me. 

Second thing I have learned is that eating healthy takes a lot of my focus right now. I am really working on making healthy choices, writing down EVERYTHING that I eat, and portion control. These first few days have gotten to be really hard. I am used to eating way too much food and so to cut back to what is healthy is difficult for me. I feel tired and groggy by the end of the day, but I know that I will get used to it. I have to let my stomach shrink. I just need to remember to STICK WITH IT!!! That is a big struggle. If I have one bad day, it is very hard to get back into the swing of things. So, I am just taking it day by day and working hard to build a new GOOD habit. 

Chores are getting better. I had an Ah-Ha moment last night as I was putting supper on the table. I distinctly remember my mom putting food on the table for our family, and I realized that now that is my job. It was a weird feeling that I got as I was putting the salad and veggies on the table... Almost like an out of body thing, where it became really real that I am the adult. This is my life, and the household is MY responsibility. (I know, right? DUHH!!!!) So, after supper, cleaning the kitchen was almost enjoyable. Almost, but not quite. :-) 

So, my attitude is getting better about taking care of myself and my family... Because, frankly, it is my job right now. 

Comments