I know that I have gone through this rigamaroll before... And I know I have said that I am going to follow through... But alas... Laziness creeps up on me, takes over and then I am back where I started... Feeling shitty about myself and the fact that I have failed... AGAIN!
I am realizing that I do come by this naturally. I have a tendency to be an all or nothing kind of person. I do really well in the beginning but then if I miss one day or task I feel like it has all gone to pot and there is no point in continuing. Not the best way to look at things....
The worst part is that when I am actually following though with my tasks I feel so good... I have more energy, I am happier, I feel empowered, my body looks and feels better... But it is hard work. It takes effort to choose to be heathy. It doesn't come easy to me...
I do really well for 6 weeks... 8 weeks... 3 months... But then I let it all go and it is just so much EASIER! I can shut my brain down to watch TV, or just sit and read a book... Or just stop caring about what is around me.
It is cold and I have that extra 45 minutes to sit with Sean and do nothing rather than going out for a walk and being COLD!
Eating more veggies and whole food and portion control... It is HARD! It is just so much easier to make the fatty, saucy meals that have more variation and just piling them on my plate and eating as much as I want because it tastes yummy!
Discipline is HARD! Having discipline and choosing a more disciplined life is HARD! And I know that it is biblical to have a more disciplined life... "God did not give [me] a spirit of fear and timidity, but a Spirit of power, love and self-discipline" 2 Timothy 1:7 (NLT)
So why is it so hard? For me it is because my sin that plagues me is laziness. Sin is in my life and my heart and it is something I have to deal with every day. Everyone has SOMETHING... My something is laziness.
So, with it being a new year I thought I would make some kind of "New Years resolutions". In the sermon yesterday we were informed that 45% of North Americans make resolutions but only 8% actually accomplish them....
I want to be part of the 8%.
So, here are my resolutions...
1. Pay off credit card debt
2. Lose 20 lbs and keep it off
3. Stay on top of my bible study hmwrk
4. Read the bible in a year with church
5. Go to bed by 10:30pm
How am I going to go about them?
BABY STEPS!!!!! I have the list on my mirror in my room so I can see it every morning.
Here are my concrete steps that I have put in place.
#1... I have made up a detailed plan on how to achieve this, including making budgeted plans of activities with my family. If it isn't planned, we don't do it.
#2... Eating controlled portions, making healthier choices, having accountability, and exercising daily. I also have a small reward plan for myself too.
#3... This one is just taking time every day to work on it and goes hand in hand with...
#4... Our church is doing a "read the bible in a year" challenge and there is an app to follow and everything. There is a lot of accountability and it is pretty exciting.
#5... I have an alarm on my phone and Sean is going to help me follow through. It also means coming home at a reasonable time when I have nights out.
So... Any helpful tips or pieces of advice, I would encourage you to share.
Thanks for all the help!!!!!!!

Comments
Post a Comment