The Life of a Night Owl

I am a night owl, and happily so... but school is starting in 3 weeks (HOLY CRAP!) and I still HATE mornings!  I have to have Jenni at school for 8:45am and even this morning, no one woke up before 9:30... Yes! You heard me... 9:30am... I'm spoiled and I know it... but it is right now 9:56pm and Jenni has gotten out of bed 3 times already.  Our whole family is a flock of night owls.  So... This coming year is going to be a killer learning curve, but I think once we get into a routine (and I can actually fall asleep before 11:30pm), then we might be good to go! 

Saturday was my very first trip to the city since I started counting my calories.  Sean and I went to a wedding (vow renewal) on Saturday in Calgary.  The people we went to support are amazing and have always been a HUGE part of Sean's life.  They were celebrating 40 YEARS of marriage!  That is crazy.  So, it was an amazing blessing to be a part of that.

BUT... Because the celebration was in Calgary, we had to eat out.  And, with eating out comes processed food and high calories.  We went to Tim Horton's for lunch and I had a sandwich that was okay for calories, but it wasn't very good, and I did get to have an Ice Capp with milk instead of a large double, double and that was less calories AND much more satisfying.  Mmmmmm... Then there were desserts served at the wedding (I didn't have one).  We didn't stay long at the wedding reception so we wanted to do something fun with the kids.  We went to McDonnald's play place and got the girls baby ice creams... I did have a small strawberry sundae, but I only ate half of it and Sean ate the rest.  Then we made it home for supper and I had a bunless burger (wrapped in lettuce) and it was perfectly delicious. 
I did feel that I made pretty good choices for eating at fast food restaurants, and I did manage to stay under my calorie goal for the day, and we got home early enough in the day that Jenni and I went for a 5km walk (she rode her bike).  All in all it was a good day.

The other great thing is that I have also started using an electronic budgeting website/app so that Sean and I can know where our money is going and we have only a certain amount of money going to certain areas.  It is really helping us keep our heads above water.  Whoo!!!  And then, at the end of the month, we aren't going, "Where did all that money go?"

So, I have started reading this book called, "Taming the Spirited Child, without breaking their spirit" and it has really helped me see Jenni in a different light.  She is becoming more "strong willed" and "spirited" every day.  There are a few tips that have seemed to work, but we will keep applying what I have learned and just go from there.  The biggest thing is to see the habits and traits that drive me insane, and realize that they will be really AWESOME things when she gets older, as long as I teach her how to use them properly.  Easier said than done, but it is a start.  I love my girls more than anything in the world, but I just have a really hard time getting though to Jenni.  It feels like we are constantly butting heads and both come at any situation with defensive attitudes... So, I am TRYING to be more offensive (not offensive like rude, but offensive like in football)... Here's to hoping.  Because, as any avid football fan would know, the best defense is a good offense.  Whoohoo!

On a totally different note... This week I have chosen to walk instead of drive at least 3 times, and it has been awesome.  I am down 9 lbs, and once I get to that 10th lb, Sean and I are going to have a race as to who can lose 10 lbs first.  Since I have started making more healthy meals for supper Sean has lost at least 5 lbs, and that is awesome... But I need an extra little kick in the butt to get through this next 10 lbs, and I thought that it would be great to do it with Sean.  I am pretty sure he is going to win (like he does with EVERYTHING else), but I don't care.  I am going to work hard, and maybe even hit that 10 lb mark first.

So, lastly, I would like to mention that I had a girlfriend come over today for tea and it was wonderful because we haven't seen each other in quite a while, but she admitted to binge reading my blog every now and again, and that made me feel so awesome.  I love that people read my blog and care about what I have to say, and what I am writing.  I have family members who get regular emails about when I write an update, and I just like knowing that people read what I write.  I know that I am mostly writing this for myself, and then can look back and see where I have come from, but it is just a really great feeling when I know that people care about what I write and that I could potentially help someone else, or motivate someone with my journey!  So, thanks for coming along on the ride!

Comments