LAUNDRY!!!

I used to LOVE doing laundry. When I was in college I would do laundry about once a month. (Yes, I had that many clothes) Sometimes I would go down the 12 flights of stairs to the laundry room with my homework and spend the evening doing laundry for $1.50 per load. 😫 Eventually, I learned that if you have friends off campus who live across the street from the school you can do laundry for FREE!!! So, I would pile up my two mountainous laundry baskets and trek across the street to do laundry there. This was also fun because I would hang out with my friends and watch copious amounts of television. However, also neglecting my homework. 

When Sean and I started dating I lived in a house that had laundry facilities (wahoo) but would still only do laundry every 3 weeks or so. But I would also go over to his house and gladly do his laundry for him too. (I have problems 😫) I still loved doing laundry. 
Something about laundry... The smell... The satisfaction that you have done something productive... Seeing all your clothes nicely piled all clean and folded... I don't know. I even found it relaxing. 

After Sean and I got married laundry wasn't that different. Instead of doing laundry in two houses, I just did it in one. Phew! 

Then we had Jenni. You would be amazed at how much laundry a tiny person can produce. It is ridiculous, actually. And to top it off I would wash anything the instant after it got dirty. Folding the tiny clothes was fun and "awe" inspiring.  Lots of "awe... This is soooooo cute!!" It was so fun to sort her clothes and put them away. Her nursery would always get cleaned when I did her laundry... It was... Well... Fun. And Jenni had NO shortage of clothing. She, like me, had enough to last at least a month. 

When you add a little baby to a family of 2 you can kind of expect to have enough laundry for about 4 people. There are just a lot of little things that go into baby laundry. So, when you add a second little person to the mix you would think that you would end up with about 6 people worth of laundry. 

NO!!!!!!!
THAT IS NOT HOW IT WORKS!!!!!!
8 PEOPLE... 8 people worth of laundry. It doubles... AGAIN!!!!!!!!

See, now both of my daughters had a ridiculous amount of clothing and Jenni was able to change her own clothing. 

I began hating laundry. It felt like it would NEVER end. I would just get the last load into the washer sigh a breath of relief and then someone would have an accident or Sean would come home and his work clothes would need to be washed or I missed clothes in the most random spot of the house, or I would take a shower and the towels that I JUST PUT OUT would smell funny. (*side note... 10 drops of tea tree oil in with your soap kills the bacteria that causes the stinky smell). But it seemed like no matter what I did I could NEVER be done with laundry. 

On an average week I will usually do about 12 loads of laundry. Sometimes more, sometimes less (yeah, right!), but regardless, that is CRAZY!!!!!!!

So today I took on a huge task. Both my girls had almost 2 laundry baskets worth of clothing, each! I was tired of not being able to find the clothes that I wanted for the girls to wear and I was tired of having SO MUCH LAUNDRY!!! So I decided to purge!!!!

I went though all the clothes that each of the girls have and sorted them into pants, shirts, pj's, etc... Then I proceeded to put outfits together. 

This is for Maria... Skirt, shirt and a pair of panties. Fold them all together and you have a little outfit easy to grab. 

I made 14 outfits for each girl. That is enough for 2 weeks. I also went through their pajamas because my girls like nighties and light pj's. That is all. Jenni will wear the fleecy pj's during the day but she won't sleep in them. 

So, now instead of two laundry baskets full, each, the girls each have 3/4 of a laundry basket worth of clothing. Yay!!! 


So, now I hope that the laundry monster will become a bit more tame. 

In total I managed to get rid of two diaper boxes worth of clothing!!! WAHOO!!!!

Comments