Ok, so week 1 is over and done with a few hiccups but nothing serious.
I weighed myself on Monday morning and according to my scale I have lost 5 lbs since I got home from vacation. YAY!!!!
I also have made some pretty drastic changes and have had to put them into practice. There have been some bad choices that have been corrected and some bad choices I have given into, but all in all it has been a good week.
1st off, I managed to get some lunch size plates. Every book I have read and every piece advice I have been given (especially from my mom) has said to start using a smaller plate. That way you are tricking your eyes into thinking you have more food than you do. Simple, yes. Also, I have decided to wait for half an hour before I decide to have seconds. I say this because I am a fast eater. I have always been a fast eater... I try to slow down, but the fact of the matter is that I eat my food quickly. SO... That being said, when I am finished my meal that is on my plate my body still thinks it is hungry, even if it isn't. Hense waiting a half hour before I get more food. Even tonight.... I was still "hungry" when I left the dinner table, but by the time that half hour was up I felt satisfied. Had I gone with my first impulse (to eat more food) I would have felt gross later in the evening. So... Those are two of my tactics to eating less food.
2nd… in my battle to eat HEALTHIER foods I have done really well this week. Making all my meals myself, nothing from a box. Heavy on the protein and veggies, light on the carbs. It has been good. I have also eaten breakfast every day this week. That is huge for me because I usually don't eat breakfast at all. Granted it is Special K and milk with fruit, but it is still breakfast. Also, I went into the city to see a really awesome friend this week too and instead of buying food in the city I packed a lunch for the girls and I. It was healthier and it saved me a ton of money. We had sandwiches and veggies. Yumm.
Let me tell you about the birthday gathering I had with my family too. See my sister-in-law has her birthday on September 1 and I have my birthday on September 4, so rather than have two dinners 3 days apart we have one celebration with two cakes (then we both get to blow out candles).
So we had BBQ burgers and hotdogs. I wanted to have one of each, but then once they were on my plate I realized that it was too much food. Then I wanted some yummy macaroni salad, but took too much (sometimes it is hard to retrain your serving hand), so I gave half of mine to Sean. I managed to have a wonderful dinner and not feel guilty about what I ate. However, when it came to the cake I let my sweet tooth take over and I had not only one, but two pieces of cake that evening. :-( So, that was not the best choice, but it also wasn't the end of the world. I managed to get up in the morning the next day and keep moving forward with my plans.
Now for the exercise. Ummmmmm.... Well.... I didn't always make the best choices here either. For the most part I chose to walk instead of drive and park farther away and stuff like that, but as for the actual workout. It happened once and then it didn't happen again. :-( again I hang my head in shame. BUT... All of that will come in time. Right now I think my biggest task/trial/focus has to be getting to a good place with food. I am working hard in that direction and the actual workouts will come once it is just routine to eat smaller amounts of healthy food. I am still choosing to be active in my daily life, so all is not lost. I can do this!!!!
So, I have decided to do a weekly check in on my blog and again welcome any comments or questions. I will also have a weekly weight loss total and currently am sitting at 5 lbs (I forgot to weigh myself this morning but Monday is my "weigh in" day) 51 more weeks to go!!! Let's do this!!!!!
Week 1:
Total weight loss: 5 lbs

Comments
Post a Comment