Week 6: Day 6

Ok. So. Workout tonight was CORE 20 STRETCH 40. It was really good. I worked hard and I stretched my muscles to their capacity. However, because it is not an intense cardio workout I didn't sweat as much as I usually would. That is why the lack of enthusiasm. 

So, but here's the thing. I need to make this clear to my readers. Yes this is a 12 week "program" but this is not just a 12 week thing for me. The changes that I am making now in my life are LIFESTYLE changes. I love this workout so much that I want to do this program for 5-6 nights a week for a very long time. Like.... Then next year....2 years....5 years.... I have not started/will not start a "diet". I will not start an eating program that is not maintainable for me and my family. I am not going to give up something for just a little while to help me get to my goal weight and then go back to eating it because I will gain that weight back. I am making steady healthy changes in my life in my home. But you will never see me judge someone else for what they eat and you will never hear the statement "I can't eat that" when I am a guest at someone else's home. (Unless it is nut based or has any kind of nut in it because I am allergic). I am not going to cut out cheese or milk or flour or anything else like that. It is NOT attainable for me. When I go away I will eat what is available for me to eat, but in moderation. I am not going to eat a gross alternative because it is better for me. If it tastes gross I am always going to choose the yummiest option. I really enjoy food, and I want my family to enjoy food, not hate it because they can't eat anything delicious. There are delicious things in this world that are outright BAD for you. 
Poutine.... Not going to eat it again. 
Pork Roast cracklings.... No one should eat it, but I know lots who do. 
White Bread.... I love it, and the smell makes my mouth water, but I have replaced sandwich bread with rice cakes.  It isn't so bad as long as there is more flavour than rice cake. (Open faced)

I go on this minor rant because I am a little frightened about going to the Dietz family gathering this weekend. There is always waaaaay too much food and most of it is crap. I have made some healthy alternatives for myself and others who are interested, but there is always the temptation. Sweets, flapper pie, dessert squares.... You name it. And then there are the breakfast meals. Mmmmmmmmmmm.... Bacon, eggs, hash browns, fruit.... So many good things. But I am not going to deny myself the simple pleasures of life. I can have those things, but small amounts of them. Load my plate with fruits first and make less room for the other options. It isn't that hard to say no to more of something. Just have a taste, enjoy the taste and move on. Like I said before. I am not going to go hungry at someone else's home because I have limited my diet so much that I cannot eat what is available to eat. I will just have very small amounts. A trick I have learned is to take a smaller lunch plate so that it tricks your eyes into thinking that there is more food than there actually is. It is very effective too. 

So, there you have it folks. Rant over. 
Good night and enjoy your day off.... I know I am going to. 












Comments